Putumayo's Vintage France Available Now

Ngatapa Black

I Muri Ahiahi is Ngatapa's second album following 2010's Miss Black & the Light (CDMANU5112), and is in a blues-jazz-soul styles, with all songs in Te Reo, showcasing Ngatapa's truly mesmerising voice. MORE

Chris Prowse and the Rouseabouts

Drawing on the folk tradition of story telling, Chris Prowse follows up his 2009 award winning album Trouble on the Waterfront. This is an album of original songs and instrumentals inspired by Johhn A Lee's writings about rouseabout Ned Slattery, known as 'The Shiner', who was part of the pioneer history of Otago and Canterbury. MORE

Tayla Alexander

“I have never before heard a talent as young as Tayla, with crystal-clear highs as she possesses. She’s incredible.” – Roger Marbeck. It is rare to find an undiscovered treasure like Tayla, a young soprano singer on the cusp of making her mark. Songbird was recorded by award winning musician, producer and arranger Bruce Lynch. MORE


Relax is the long awaited second album of originals from Aotearoa’s most popular underground reggae band. 1814 have been performing their take on kiwi flavoured reggae since 2004 and are one of this country’s hardest working bands, having travelled extensively throughout NZ and Australia to perform. They have enjoyed national success with their debut Jah Rydem, which has gone on to become one of Aotearoa’s biggest selling reggae records. MORE

Ariana Tikao

Ariana Tikao is a unique performer and composer, drawing on pop and folk styles with a strong emphasis on Mâori chant. Filled with crystalline vocals and spacious meditative song structures with sparse, lush instrumentation, From Dust to Light sees Tikao alternating from English to Te Reo – in particular her native Kai Tahu dialect from the South Island. The album was recorded at The Surgery in Wellington with Lee Prebble as engineer. MORE

Vintage France

Step back in time with these beautiful and timeless French chansons by legends and contemporary artists. MORE

World Yoga

Take a relaxing journey around the world with these soothing songs from Mali to Nepal and beyond. MORE

Available Now!

Ode Records now proudly represents the Putumayo label in Aotearoa New Zealand. For stockist and wholesale enquiries please get in touch with us at orders@oderecords.co.nz MORE






Kia ora, welcome to Ode Records

A Selection of Our Recent Releases

A collection of Deane Waretini’s finest recorded moments from the 1980s onwards including “The Bridge” and the soundtrack to “Now Is the Hour”, the seven part series on Maori TV which screens from 30th August onwards.

RAY WOOLF ~ The Sixties Collection (CD)
This collection concentrates on Ray’s quiff and paisley periods and delves deep into his Sixties catalogue which encompassed 17 singles. This new collection includes all of these singles and most of the B-sides, which see Ray effortlessly gliding from Rock ‘n’ Roll to pop, and from R ‘n’ B and soul to avant-garde psych rock as exemplified on The Brew’s standout 1967 single “Bengal Tiger” with Bob Gillett. The CD comes with a 12 page booklet which traces Ray’s career from singing in skiffle bands in the UK as a 13 year old schoolboy, through to his illustrious career in New Zealand which now spans 50 years.

KIRSTEN TE RITO ~ Kirsten Te Rito (CD)
This captivating Wellington songstress releases her 100% te reo Maori debut album. She is joined by a vast array of friends including her partner James Illingworth on keys, Darren Mathiassen (drummer to Hollie Smith and Rhombus), Rio Hemopo (Trinity Roots), Warren Maxwell and Toby Laing. Together they make infectious sing-along melodies sprinkled with R&B/Soul.

TONI HUATA ~ Hopukia (CD)
With a silky Dub bass, uplifting dance elements and electronica vibes fused with the beauty of the Mâori language, Toni Huata’s new album ‘Hopukia’ is the forth release from this internationally acclaimed ‘Mâori Diva’. A stunning 10-track album, which includes a first time collaboration with NZ’s most respected electronic musicians Paddy Free and an encore music collaboration with acclaimed composer and percussionist Gareth Farr.

LA BELLE ALLIANCE ~ Release (CD)      
"Impressive performances of special programme.” – Otago Daily Times, June 23rd 2012.
La Belle Alliance is the Dunedin duo Tessa Petersen (violin) and John Van Buskirk (piano). Funded by the University of Otago, this CD provides an interesting selection of original works written by 10 of the composers who have held a Mozart Fellowship over the 41 years since it began. Featuring, Christopher Adams, John Elmsly, Christopher Marshall, Anthony Watson, Ian McDonald, Edwin Carr, Anthony Ritchie, John Rimmer and Larry Pruden.

For more information on our new releases, and releases from previous weeks, click here.


About Us

Our label Ode Records has an extensive catalogue of New Zealand, Pacific, World, Classical and Jazz recordings by leading local artists.  Details about albums in our constantly evolving catalogue can be found on the Ode page.

We are also the appointed distributor for more than 50 independent music labels from New Zealand and overseas, covering many genres of music.  You'll find more information about our distributed releases on both our International and Ode pages.

If you have any queries about Ode Records or distribution, we'd love to hear from you.

And if you'd like more regular updates about our music and what we're up to, have a look for us on Twitter or Facebook.


Radio New Zealand Concert Chart

This week's  Top Ten:



Click here to view the New Releases